The Four Stages of Risk Assessment

The stages of risk assessment are pretty straightforward. Ultimately you want a risk assessment process that can identify hazards and who may be harmed, and outline the risk management methodologies that can prevent an incident. These are vital to a risk assessment workflow that is both successful and safe.

The four stages of risk assessment are as follows.

1: Hazard and risk identification

This part of the risk assessment process involves observing the work area and searching for possible health and safety hazards and risks. Through consultation with workers and worker organisations, clients, the manufacturers of any equipment and after reviewing previous health and safety risk assessment forms, you can paint a clear picture of the dangers present.

2: Identify those at risk

This may seem easy enough but keep in mind that anyone who enters the work area must be aware of the inherent dangers. This includes workers, managers, clients and even the general public. Ensure risk assessment in the workplace is clearly accessible for all to read.

3: Complete risk assessment plan

Then it’s a simple (if at times frustrating) matter of doing the paperwork. For free risk assessment templates check out SafeWorkPro’s Resources or you can read more about the correct risk assessment format here.

4: Risk assessment review and update

Risks in construction tend to change as a job develops and in order to remain compliant with OHS laws and regulations, your construction risk assessment form will also have to change. This means active consultation with workers to ensure any new risks in construction are accounted for.